The animated Static Shock series premiered September 23, 2000 and ran for a total of 4 seasons and 52 episodes. Denys Cowan served as producer and director on the series. 

During a dispute with police, chemical containers exploded giving 14-year-old Virgil Hawkins the ability to create and control electromagnetism. Virgil uses his newfound abilities to fight crime and evil as the superhero Static!


Hardware was created by Dwayne McDuffie and Denys Cowan for DC’s Milestone Comics imprint. He first appeared in 1993’s Hardware #1.

When genius inventor Curtis “Curt” Metcalf discovers his mentor Edwin Alva’s involvement with the existence of the international syndicate S.Y.S.T.E.M., he designs an advanced exo-skeleton system to fight crime as the superhero vigilante Hardware! As Hardware, Metcalf has enhanced strength and durability, as well as a wide range of advanced weapon systems.

Denys’ credits include Hardware #1-7, #11, #13, #16, #25, #32, and #36 (1993 – 1996).